Academic Calendar - Fall 2016

Note: Short courses have unique drop/add and refund deadlines; look up the specific deadlines for these courses on Short, Internet and Outreach Class Schedules page.


August 1 - 12
Fall pre-session (two weeks)

Friday, August 12
Final enrollment date - late fee assessed after this date

Monday, August 15
Class work begins

Monday, August 22
100% Refund, Nonrestrictive Drop/Add Deadline (details)

Friday, August 26
Partial Refund, Restrictive Drop/Add Deadline (details)

Monday, September 5
University holiday

Tuesday, September 27
Six week grades due from faculty

Friday, October 14
Students' Fall Break (No Classes)

Tuesday, November 1
Deadline to file graduation application (for name to appear in the fall commencement program)

Friday, November 4
W Drop/Withdraw Deadline (details)

Friday, November 18
W/F Withdraw Deadline (details)

Wednesday, November 23
First day of students' Thanksgiving break (No classes)

Thursday-Friday, November 24-25
University holiday

Monday-Friday, November 28 - December 2
Pre-Finals Week

Friday, December 2
Class work ends

Monday-Friday, December 5-9
Finals Week (details)

Friday, December 9
Graduate Commencement

Saturday, December 10
Undergraduate Commencement

Wednesday, December 14 - 10:00 a.m.
Final grades due electronically from faculty
-Grade reports are compiled shortly after the end of the semester and are made available electronically to the student, the student's adviser and the student's dean. Fall 2016 is the first term of the transition to a new student information system.  This may cause delays in the end-of-term processes that must be completed before grades and fall transcripts are available.

Friday, December 23 - Monday, January 2
University holiday

A University holiday falls within the semester. If the scheduled classes do not meet, additional class time or assignments may make up the difference.