Academic Calendar - Fall 2018

Note: Short courses have unique drop/add and refund deadlines; look up the specific deadlines for these courses on Short, Internet and Outreach Class Schedules page. Additional deadlines apply to graduate students. See the Graduate College Academic Calendar.  

August 6-17
Fall pre-session (two weeks)

Tuesday, August 14
Instructors may begin submitting final grades for fall pre-session classes

Friday, August 17
Final enrollment date - late fee assessed after this date

Monday, August 20
Class work begins

Monday, August 27
100% Refund, Nonrestrictive Drop/Add Deadline (details)

Friday, August 31
Partial Refund, Restrictive Drop/Add Deadline (details)

Monday, September 3
University holiday

Tuesday, September 25
Instructors may begin submitting six week grades

Wednesday, October 3 (noon)
Six week grades due by noon from faculty

Tuesday, October 9
Instructors may begin submitting final grades for first eight week classes

Friday, October 19
Students’ Fall Break (No Classes)

Thursday, November 1
Deadline to file graduation application (for name to appear in the fall commencement program)

Friday, November 9
W Drop/Withdraw Deadline (details)

Wednesday, November 21
Students’ Thanksgiving Break Begins (No Classes)

Thursday-Friday, November 22-23
University holiday

Friday, November 30
W/F Withdraw Deadline (details)

Monday-Friday, December 3-7
Pre-Finals Week

Tuesday, December 4
Instructors may begin submitting final grades for all fall classes

Friday, December 7
Class work ends

Monday-Friday, December 10-14
Finals Week

Friday, December 14
Graduate Commencement

Saturday, December 15
Undergraduate Commencement

Wednesday, December 19 (noon)
Final grades due by noon electronically from faculty

- Grade reports are compiled shortly after the end of the semester and are made available electronically to the student, the student's adviser and the student's dean.

Monday, December 24 - Tuesday, January 1
University Holiday

A University holiday falls within the semester. If the scheduled classes do not meet, additional class time or assignments may make up the difference.