Academic Calendar - Spring 2019

Note: Short courses have unique drop/add and refund deadlines; look up the specific deadlines for these courses on Short, Internet and Outreach Class Schedules page. Additional deadlines apply to graduate students. See the Graduate College Academic Calendar.   


December 17, 2018 - January 11, 2019
Winter intersession (4 weeks)

December 24, 2018 - January 1, 2019
University holidays

Tuesday, January 8
Instructors may begin submitting final grades for spring pre-session classes

Friday, January 11
Final enrollment date - late fee assessed after this date

Monday, January 14
Class work begins

Monday, January 21
University holiday

Tuesday, January 22
100% Refund, Nonrestrictive Drop/Add Deadline (details)

Friday, January 25
Partial Refund, Restrictive Drop/Add Deadline (details)

Tuesday, February 19
Instructors may begin submitting six week grades

Wednesday, February 27 (noon)
Six week grades due by noon from faculty

Tuesday, March 5
Instructors may begin submitting final grades for first eight week classes

Monday-Friday, March 18-22
Students' Spring Break

Monday, April 1
Deadline to file diploma Application (for name to appear in the spring commencement program)

Friday, April 12
W Drop/Withdraw Deadline (details)

Friday, April 26
W/F Withdraw Deadline (details)

Monday-Friday, April 29-May 3
Pre-Finals Week

Tuesday, April 30
Instructors may begin submitting final grades for all spring classes

Friday, May 3
Class work ends

Monday-Friday, May 6-10
Finals Week

Friday, May 10
Graduate Commencement

Saturday, May 11
Undergraduate Commencement

Wednesday, May 15 (noon)
Final grades due by noon electronically from faculty

-Grade reports are compiled shortly after the end of the semester and are made available electronically to the student, the student's adviser and the student's dean.

A University holiday falls within the semester. If the scheduled classes do not meet, additional class time or assignments may make up the difference.