Academic Calendar - Spring 2020

Note: Short courses have unique drop/add and refund deadlines; look up the specific deadlines for these courses on Short, Internet and Outreach Class Schedules page. Additional deadlines apply to graduate students. See the Graduate College Academic Calendar.   


December 16, 2019 - January 10, 2020
Winter intersession (4 weeks)

December 23, 2019 - January 1, 2020
University holidays

Tuesday, January 7
Instructors may begin submitting final grades for spring pre-session classes

Friday, January 10
Final enrollment date - late fee assessed after this date

Monday, January 13
Class work begins

Monday, January 20
University holiday

Tuesday, January 21
100% Refund, Nonrestrictive Drop/Add Deadline (details)

Friday, January 24
Partial Refund, Restrictive Drop/Add Deadline (details)

Tuesday, February 18
Instructors may begin submitting six week grades

Wednesday, February 26 (noon)
Six week grades due by noon from faculty

Tuesday, March 3
Instructors may begin submitting final grades for first eight week classes

Monday-Friday, March 16-20
Students' Spring Break

Wednesday, April 1
Deadline to file diploma Application (for name to appear in the spring commencement program)

Friday, April 10
W Drop/Withdraw Deadline (details)

Friday, April 24
W/F Full Withdrawal Deadline (details)

Monday-Friday, April 27-May 1
Pre-Finals Week

Tuesday, April 28
Instructors may begin submitting final grades for all spring classes

Friday, May 1
Class work ends

Monday-Friday, May 4-8
Finals Week

Friday, May 8
Graduate Commencement

Saturday, May 9
Undergraduate Commencement

Wednesday, May 13 (noon)
Final grades due by noon electronically from faculty

-Grade reports are compiled shortly after the end of the semester and are made available electronically to the student, the student's adviser and the student's dean.

A University holiday falls within the semester. If the scheduled classes do not meet, additional class time or assignments may make up the difference.