Academic Calendar - Fall 2019

Note: Short courses have unique drop/add and refund deadlines; look up the specific deadlines for these courses on Short, Internet and Outreach Class Schedules page. Additional deadlines apply to graduate students. See the Graduate College Academic Calendar.  

August 5-16
Fall pre-session (two weeks)

Tuesday, August 13
Instructors may begin submitting final grades for fall pre-session classes

Friday, August 16
Final enrollment date - late fee assessed after this date

Monday, August 19
Class work begins

Monday, August 26
100% Refund, Nonrestrictive Drop/Add Deadline (details)

Friday, August 30
Partial Refund, Restrictive Drop/Add Deadline (details)

Monday, September 2
University holiday

Tuesday, September 24
Instructors may begin submitting six week grades

Wednesday, October 2 (noon)
Six week grades due by noon from faculty

Tuesday, October 8
Instructors may begin submitting final grades for first eight week classes

Monday, October 21
Spring 2020 enrollment begins for priority and graduate students (All enrollment dates)

Friday, October 25
Students’ Fall Break (No Classes)

Friday, November 1
Deadline to file graduation application (for name to appear in the fall commencement program)

Friday, November 8
W Drop/Withdraw Deadline (details)

Friday, November 22
W/F Full Withdrawal Deadline (details)

Wednesday, November 27
Students’ Thanksgiving Break Begins (No Classes)

Thursday-Friday, November 28-29
University holiday

Monday-Friday, December 2-6
Pre-Finals Week

Tuesday, December 3
Instructors may begin submitting final grades for all fall classes

Friday, December 6
Class work ends

Monday-Friday, December 9-13
Finals Week

Friday, December 13
Graduate Commencement

Saturday, December 14
Undergraduate Commencement

Wednesday, December 18 (noon)
Final grades due by noon electronically from faculty

- Grade reports are compiled shortly after the end of the semester and are made available electronically to the student, the student's adviser and the student's dean.

Monday, December 23 - Wednesday, January 1
University Holiday

A University holiday falls within the semester. If the scheduled classes do not meet, additional class time or assignments may make up the difference.